While Facebook gives you a full access to your sharing settings, sometimes it is difficult to set them the best possible way. Plus, the changes of platform are made regularly and things that worked yesterday turn useless today.
In this article we won’t highlight general issues like passwords or two-factor authentication. Let’s stick to particular Facebook features.
An easy way to learn the basics is check “Privacy Basics” feature. Essentially, this is an incredibly simple walkthrough designed to show users what and how is shared on Facebook. Actually, there you will find the most important settings, where to find them, and how to use them. If you prefer video tutorials, you can find one in the end of this article.
Apart from it, here are our major recommendations:
Create and Use Friend Lists
Believe it or not, it is a great feature to manage who sees what. You can easily create lists for your Family, Friends, Colleagues, or College buddies. Once you make lists, you can publish posts, photos visible only to a selected list. Other people won’t see the things you’ve published!
Decide Who Sees What
Go to your Privacy pane (Settings > Privacy). There you will see three main sections: “Who can see my stuff?”, “Who can contact me?” and “Who can look me up?”.
It is your hub to manage your visibility settings on Facebook. You can choose to make post visible to Public, Friends, or custom friend lists. Note that your future posts mean those posts that will appear after you change the setting and it doesn’t concern old posts you published before.
Here you can also change the visibility of your contact information. You can also choose not to let search engines go through your Facebook feed, when for example, somebody Googled you. You can find at the bottom of the panel, and we’d recommend switching it off.
Manage Applications and Ads
In this block you can manage settings for search engines, applications and ads. Firstly, go to to Settings > Apps to check the apps you approved to share information with your Facebook account.
Note that every time you login to a third-party website through your Facebook account, this company gets access to your personal information, your photos and posts. To disable it, go to Platform, click “Edit” under “Apps, Websites, and Plug-ins” and then on or off. Remember that if you disable this functionality, you won’t able to login with your Facebook account on the third-party websites.
To check your privacy settings on Ads, go to Settings > Ads. Though Facebook doesn’t share your info, we recommend to disable this function.